Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Cultures

School of Music

The Orchestral Music of Schubert

School of Music Orchestra conducted by Clive McClelland

Franz Schubert – Overture Alfonso und Estrella
Franz Schubert – Rosamunde Entr’acte No. 3
Franz Schubert – Symphony No. 8 in B minor (completed by Brian Newbould)

The concert forms part of the celebrations marking the 20th anniversary of the Schubert Institute Research Committee and its valuable work maintaining and expanding the Schubert archive in the Brotherton Library.

The programme is designed to explore the links between Schubert’s ‘Unfinished’ Symphony in B minor and his incidental music to Rosamunde. The overture may have been originally intended for Rosamunde, while another entr’acte from that (also in B minor and with identical orchestration) forms the finale in the completed version of the symphony. The missing scherzo of the symphony has been completed from Schubert’s sketches by former Leeds lecturer Brian Newbould.

Admission Free

Clothworkers Centenary Concert Hall

© Copyright Leeds 2018